2021 Fall Programme

DISRUPTION—the PLM Professionals’ Exploration of Emerging Technologies that Will Reshape the PLM Value Equation

Updated: 08/09/21

Day 1 – 16 November 9:00 AM – 1:15 PM (EST) | 15:00 – 19:15 (CET)

  1. 9:00 – 9:10 AM EST / 15:00 – 15:10 CET | Welcome
    Peter Bilello, President & CEO, CIMdata [Bio] & Håkan Kårdén, Director of Marketing, Eurostep [Bio]

  2. 9:10 – 9:50 AM EST / 15:10 – 15:50 CET | KEYNOTE: The Critical Dozen: 12 familiar, evolving trends and enablers of digital transformation that you cannot or should not live without
    Peter Bilello, President & CEO, CIMdata [Bio]

    As industrial enterprises dig themselves out of the latest set of socioeconomic disruptions, long-accepted views of product lifecycle management (PLM) are increasingly recognized as inadequate. Complexities, risks, and opportunities that have been downplayed, or ignored, are being tackled on the factory floor, in the field, in the executive suite, and everywhere in between. The result is a massive upheaval. Among the impacts are how enterprises operate, how they expect to prosper, and even how they view themselves and their core competencies. With increasing urgency, leadership teams and corporate managers are demanding speed-ups in their digital transformations to sharpen their competitive edge and everything that implies. This presentation will introduce CIMdata’s Critical Dozen as a way of illustrating why so many companies are finding their digital journey to be tricky. The Critical Dozen represents 12 familiar, evolving trends and enablers of digital transformation that you cannot or should not live without. Unfortunately, aspects of each remain disruptive and can be difficult to implement if taken on individually and not as a set of connected elements of a complete digital transformation initiative. As such, we hope to describe the Critical Dozen in this presentation and how to address each in a connected and interdependent manner.

  3. 9:50 – 10:25 AM EST / 15:50 – 16:25 CET | The Business Value of Standards-based Information Interoperability for Aerospace & Defense
    Kenny Swope, Senior Manager – Architecture Integration & Interoperability Standards, Boeing & Jean Yves Delaunay, PLM Interoperability Expert, Airbus

    Collaboration within a large, global, distributed supply chain of design and development partners is seriously hindered by the ineffective implementation of interoperability standards industry-wide and selective capabilities embraced by PLM providers. These two factors prevent the digital continuity needed to set up a Model-Based Enterprise. Future A&D development of civil aircraft, aerospace products, and associated systems will rely on model-based paradigms. In addition, a Model-Based Enterprise will require long-term archiving and retrieval of the associated model-based design, more specialized and complex data structures, and management of their metadata. Globally, PLM interoperability standards are identified as key enablers to support the new ways of working, based on the introduction of digital twins that will exist in a digital ecosystem. The A&D PLM Action Group has come together to examine the value proposition of this ecosystem with recommendations on a set of interoperability standards and a means of accelerating adoption.

  4. 10:25 – 10:35 EST / 16:25 – 16:35 CET | Break

  5. 10:35 – 11:10 AM EST / 16:35 – 17:10 CET | Can Standards and the Combination of Standards Aspire to be Disruptive?
    Nigel Shaw, Technical Fellow, Eurostep

    In these days of Digital Twins and Digital Threads, many voices are emphasizing the role and importance of standards as a key enabler. As the product life cycle is increasingly coming into focus there is a need to understand what should be the role of “snap-shot” standards, highly relevant for data exchange, and standards providing the context over the life cycle of products. This presentation will provide insight on recent developments and trends, looking at key specific standards and how they can be used together to support business across the life cycle as PLM moves towards Model-Based approaches, use of IoT, and increased levels of collaboration. Examples from industry will be used.

  6. 11:10 – 11:20 AM EST / 17:10 – 17:20 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  7. 11:20 – 11:30 AM EST / 17:20 – 17:30 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  8. 11:30 – 11:40 AM EDT / 17:30 – 17:40 CEST | Break

  9. 11:40 AM – 12:15 PM EST / 17:40 – 18:15 CET | Indexing Content – Finding Your Needle in the Haystack
    Greg Weaver, Director of Corporate PLM, Gulfstream

    3D model-based definition (MBD) forever changed how we at Gulfstream work and our ability to interrogate the design of our aircraft. Whether we like it or not, document-based product definition still exists that applies to the approved configuration. Our worldwide service network has overcome their challenges in expeditiously finding these approved configurations through our indexation and browser application based on a commercial PLM search platform. Learn how this project helped Gulfstream to index content not only for our MBD programs but our heritage programs as well.

  10. 12:15 AM – 12:25 PM EST / 18:15 – 18:25 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  11. 12:25 – 12:35 PM EST / 18:25 – 18:35 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  12. 12:35 – 1:05 PM EST / 18:35 – 19:05 CET | The Next disruption please…..
    Martijn Dullaart, Business Architect Enterprise Configuration Management, ASML

    From Paper to Digital Files brought many benefits but did not fundamentally impact how Configuration Management was and still is done. The process to go digital was accelerated because of the Covid-19 Pandemic. Forced to work remotely was the disruption that was needed to push everyone to go digital. But a bigger disruption to CM has already arrived. Going model-based will require us to reexamine why we need CM and how to apply it in a model-based environment. Where, from a Configuration Management perspective, a digital file still in many ways behaves like a paper document, a model is something different. What is the deliverable? How do you manage change in models? How do you manage ownership? How should CM adopt MBx, and what requirements to support CM should be considered in the successful implementation of MBx? It’s time to start unraveling these questions in search of answers.

     

  13. 1:05 – 1:15 PM EST / 19:05 – 19:15 CET | First day summary

  14. 1:15 EDT / 19:15 CET | Conference Adjourns for the Day

Day 2 – 17 NOVEMBER 9:00 AM – 1:15 PM (EST) | 15:00 – 19:15 (CET)

  1. 9:00 – 9:05 AM EDT / 15:00 – 15:05 CEST | Welcome
    Peter Bilello, President & CEO, CIMdata [Bio] & Håkan Kårdén, Director of Marketing, Eurostep [Bio]

  2. 9:05 – 9:40 AM EST / 15:05 – 15:40 CET | KEYNOTE: Infusing PLM with AI: An Uncertain Certainty
    Marc Halpern, Vice President, Gartner

    Few technology trends have sparked more utopian and dystopian visions for our future than artificial intelligence (AI). Indeed, the infusion of AI technologies into all facets of PLM and product life cycles has been accelerating. AI offers the promise to automate more work so greater emphasis can be placed pushing the boundaries of discovery, innovation, and productivity. Simultaneously, adoption of AI involves unprecedented levels of uncertainty about decisions and processes that are being automated. AI demands that we evolve new skill sets and new ways of thinking. This presentation explores our most likely scenarios for an AI-enabled design and PLM future.

  3. 9:40 – 10:15 AM EST / 15:40 – 16:15 CET | Digital Disruption in Maritime with the Type 26 Frigate
    Rob Clifford, Head of Data, Maritime and Land Sector, BAE Systems

    The Type 26 frigate can be described as a new class of surface combatant. This new type of ship has received attention from many countries. One of the most significant advantages of Type 26 is that it can meet future needs with its modular design and open systems architecture. BAE Systems has sold the T26 platform to the UK Royal Navy, Royal Canadian Navy, and Royal Australian Navy. As a modern ship it makes heavy use of digital technologies and BAE Systems is constructing an end-to-end digital thread for the Type 26 platform that puts data management and exploitation at the heart of product lifecycle management. The end-to-end digital thread will also be used to optimize future support solutions. This presentation will consider what this means and the extent of digital disruption seen from implementing Digital Twin and Thread to maritime.

     

  4. 10:15 – 10:25 AM EST / 16:15 – 16:25 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  5. 10:25 – 10:35 AM EST / 16:25 – 16:35 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  6. 10:35 – 10:45 AM EST / 16:35 – 16:45 CET | Break
  7. 10:45 – 11:20 AM EST / 16:45 – 17:20 CET | A Balanced Strategy to Reap Continuous Business Value from Digital PLM
    Dr. Rodney Ewing, Director of PLM – Components Business Unit, Cummins

    Like never before, organizations are cautious about their investments in PLM and are increasing their focus on business value beyond IT risk mitigation and TCO reduction. The role of digital technologies is expanding in enabling newer business capabilities leveraging the existing foundational PLM processes and data elements. While organizations are expanding the scope of PLM from the current engineering-centric to a cross-functional-focus, a balanced strategy approach helps identify, prioritize, and sequence the optimum mix of focus areas. This approach strikes the right balance between risk and returns to help organizations with a growth mindset. This presentation will share Cummins Components business unit’s PLM transformation journey. An approach that is yielding superior results and gaining the highest stakeholder satisfaction. The presentation will also cover digital forces like AR/VR, Digital Thread, Additive Manufacturing, and Advanced Analytics to address specific business use cases.

     

  8. 11:20 – 11:30 AM EST / 17:20 – 17:30 CET | Break

  9. 11:30 – 11:40 AM EST / 17:30 – 17:40 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  10. 11:40 – 11:50 AM EST / 17:40 – 17:50 CET | Sponsor Thought-Leadership Vignette

  11. 11:50 AM – 12:25 PM EST / 17:50 – 18:25 CET| Rising to the challenge of engineering and optimizing . . . what?
    Dr. Patrick Hillberg, Professor, Oakland University

    How should we rise to the challenges currently facing mankind and society as complexity is increasing into limitations caused by resource constraints, sustainability and global warming? The answer – we adopt Systems Engineering and Systems Thinking. But as much as we love a simple answer it is not this simple. And even if a few people “get it,” how do we reach a wider audience? In this presentation, Dr. Hillberg makes a distinction between Systems Engineering and Systems Thinking, and between Complicated-ness, and Complexity. Engineering assumes component behavior is the same in the test stand as within the product but Systems Thinking sees that complexity is created when components change their behavior to match their surroundings… particularly if the “component” is a person in the development organization. There is no more urgent task in developing a sustainable future than continually upskilling the new (and old) workforce. Are academic systems designed for this?

     

  12. 12:25 – 1:00 PM EST / 18:25 – 19:00 CET| The State of the Industry—a Fireside chat with industry leaders.
    Peter Bilello, President & CEO, CIMdata
    Marc Halpern, Vice President, Gartner
    Torbjörn Holm, Founder, Eurostep

    An opportunity to relax and contemplate the many topics and technologies discussed during the virtual event. The conversation among our three industry visionaries will touch on where they see emerging technologies affecting the way products are designed, manufactured, and supported today and then turn to their vision of what is on the future horizon. Is the industry at a crossroads in our ability to absorb and leverage these rapid changes?

  13. 12:50 – 1:00 PM EDT / 18:50 – 19:00 CEST | Conference summary

  14. 1:00 pm EDT / 19:00 CEST | Conference Adjourns

     


What have previous events been like?

Read the following press from PLM Road Map & PDT 2020 event:


Watch a 25 minute video from engineering.com of PDT Europe 2017 Click here

Watch a 24 minute video from engineering.com of PDT Europe 2016 Click here

Watch a 22 minute video from engineering.com of PDT Europe 2015 Click here

Watch a 24 minute video from engineering.com of PDT Europe 2014 Click here

Watch a 18 minute video from engineering.com of PDT Europe 2013 Click here


Most welcome to great events!

If you have any questions about PLM Road Map & PDT 2021, please contact:
Håkan Kårdén
e: hakan.karden@eurostep.com
p: +46 (0)708 300 398